Ramsgate author seals two novel deal with Avon Books

Author Gaz Wright, wife Naomi and children Florence and Sully

A Ramsgate dad-of-two who self published his first novel has now been snapped up for a two-book deal by Avon Books.

Gary Wright’s debut book – A Parent Apart – received five star ratings for its “compelling” plot when it was released in 2021.

Gary- best known as Gaz – combined his love of the coast, life as a parent and experience from more than 10 years as a police officer to bring the dramatic story to life.

Now the book has gone through an editing process which has resulted in a new chapter structure and new ending and it will be released on August 1 under the title After The Storm.

A second book is also due to be published with Avon Books – a part of the Harper Collins stable.

Gaz, 40, said: “It’s very exciting. A Parent Apart has a new ending and new structure, so it is like they took the home movie and  this is now the studio film version.

“I was working with my editor Rachel Hart and it is like she can read my mind. We did structural edits, she devised a new chapter plan  so each chapter is different characters with different viewpoints whereas most books only have first or third person.

“Some of the book wasn’t linear so that has been changed now and the ending is completely different.

“Doing those chapters meant the development of the characters and I could really get into them and write them more individually, so character development has been the biggest thing especially with the two female leads.

“Next year will be the second book which is done, I have written five books, and that is in the same setting of Beachbrook with some of the same characters.”

Gaz has used his policing knowledge to bring authenticity to the plots. The dad, who lives in Manston with wife Naomi and children Florence, six, and Sully, four, joined Kent Police at the age of 18 working in various uniformed roles.

He retired from Kent Police after suffering a cardiac arrest, aged 29, which was caused by Arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy, or ARVC, which is a type of cardiomyopathy that affects the pumping chambers of the heart and causes abnormal heart rhythms.

Since then the former Dane Court student has undergone operations to fit three ICDs (implantable cardioverter defibrillators) and had a complete change of career with the opening of The Coffee Shack on Ramsgate seafront a decade ago.

Gaz and Naomi, who is a fitness instructor, sold The Coffee Shack two years ago and he has been writing full-time ever since.

He said: “I’m writing lots of scripts at the moment with a friend who owns a production company. It is great that I can write for a living.

“I make myself go to the gym first thing in the morning and then spend four hours writing. I try to do 1000-2000 words a day, even if it is rubbish that I end up deleting as you have to get in the habit of writing.

“You have imposter syndrome when you self publish and think you are not a professional author but since signing this deal it feels like yes, I am a professional author.”

After The Storm charts the tale of a child’s tragic drowning which rips a small community apart with devastating consequences. It is described by Avon Books as “perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Gilian McAllister, Ann Cleeves and shows like Broadchurch, Happy Valley and The Bay.”

The book hits the shelves on August 1 but is available to pre-order from May 3 via publisher Harper Collins at: https://harpercollins.co.uk/products/after-the-storm-g-d-wright?variant=40638456004686

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*


4 × two =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.