Turner Prize winner to be announced by British Vogue boss

Tai Shani, Turner Prize 2019 entry, courtesy Turner Contemporary and the artist. Photograph by David Levene 25/9/19

The winner of Turner Prize 2019 will be announced by the Editor-in-Chief of British Vogue, Edward Enninful OBE (pictured below), in Margate on Tuesday, December 3.

Turner Prize 2019, with work by the four shortlisted artists: Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Helen Cammock, Oscar Murillo and Tai Shani, is currently on show at Turner Contemporary until January 12, 2020. Entry is free.

The exhibition has attracted more than 60,000 visitors since opening to the public  in September.

One of the best known prizes for the visual arts in the world, the Turner Prize, named after artist JMW Turner (1775-1851), aims to promote public interest in contemporary British art. It is awarded to a British artist for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in past 12 months. The Turner Prize award is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

Oscar Murillo, Turner Prize 2019, courtesy Turner Contemporary and the artist. Photograph by David Levene 

It is the first time that the venue for the prize, outside of London, has had a direct connection with JMW Turner. Turner Contemporary stands on the site of artist’s lodging house and enjoys views of the skies that Turner felt were ‘the loveliest in all Europe’. It was announced in October 2019 that Turner Contemporary’s building will feature on the new £20 note, alongside their namesake JMW Turner.

Helen Cammock, Turner Prize 2019, courtesy Turner Contemporary and the artist. Photograph by David Levene

Turner Prize 2019 is curated by Rowan Geddis and Fiona Parry. The members of the Turner Prize 2019 jury are Alessio Antoniolli, Director, Gasworks & Triangle Network; Elvira Dyangani Ose, Director of The Showroom Gallery and Lecturer in Visual Cultures at Goldsmiths; Victoria Pomery, Director at Turner Contemporary and writer Charlie Porter. The jury is chaired by Alex Farquharson, Director of Tate Britain. Next year the prize will return to Tate Britain.

Lawrence Abu Hamdan, After SFX, 2018. Turner Prize 2019 at Turner Contemporary, Margate 2019. Photo by Stuart Leech

Turner Prize 2019 is supported by AKO Foundation, Eurotunnel, BNP Paribas, Southeastern, Canterbury Christ Church University, Lord Browne of Madingley and Lance Uggla, with additional funding from Kent County Council.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.