Conservative candidate takes Cliffsend and Pegwell seat in by-election

Marc Rhattigan has been elected to the Cliffsend and Pegwell ward at Thanet council

A by-election for the Cliffsend and Pegwell ward at Thanet council has been won by Conservative Marc Rhattigan.

The seat became vacant in December when David Stevens resigned over claims of bullying.

Mr Stevens was elected in last May’s poll as the Conservative member for the ward. The other seat for the ward is held by fellow Conservative Cllr Brenda Rogers.

Mr Stevens handed in his resignation to Thanet council on December 20, prompting the by-election.

The results were published yesterday (February 14) and show Cllr Rhattigan took 516 votes, equalling 51%.

Green Party candidate Charlotte Barton took 290 votes (29%), Labour’s David Green polled 109 votes (11%) and Independent Graeme Birchall took 101 votes (10%).

Cllr Rhattigan stood in last May’s district election for St Peter’s ward but was unsuccessful, with Green Party’s Trevor Roper taking the seat.

The father-of-four, who lives in Cliftonville, # owns and manages businesses including a group of children’s nursery’s across Thanet.

He previously said: “I feel the younger generation are under-represented in local government and I want to change this so that every generation has a voice within TDC.”

A by-election has also taken place for Westgate Town Council. Independent Peter Green has taken the seat with 57% of the poll. Labour’s Penny Anne Wells took 43% of the votes.

A further by-election is due to be arranged for the district council seat representing Newington following the sudden resignation on Labour’s Karen Constantine.