Primary school winners of Christmas card competition announced

Year 6 pupil Valerie from Bromstone school was the Christmas card competition winner

Over the last few weeks primary school children in South Thanet have been busy drawing Christmas puddings, Christmas trees, snowmen, angels, reindeers, sleighs, stars, robins, bells and all things festive for MP Craig Mackinlay’s annual Christmas card competition.

In the Autumn, Craig asked all primary schools in his constituency to invite their pupils to design the cards that he will be sending family, friends and other MPs.

Craig, assisted by the constituency staff in his Broadstairs’ Office, agreed which of the children’s designs should be featured on the card.

The winner of the competition was Valerie from Bromstone Primary School in Broadstairs.

Abigayle from Dame Janet Primary Academy

The runners up were Abigayle from Dame Janet Primary Academy; Iris from Christ Church CoE Junior School; Sonny from St Joseph’s Roman Catholic Primary School, Malgorzata from Dame Janet Primary Academy; and Ruby from Newington Community Primary School.

Mr Mackinlay said: “I am very grateful to all the children in South Thanet who entered my 2018 Christmas card competition.

Iris Walters from Christ Church CoE Primary School

“This year, as in previous years, I received so many fantastic designs from primary schools around my constituency.

“The competition is always enjoyable, although, given the depth of artistic talent in South Thanet, choosing a winner is never easy.

Malgorzata Szczesna from Dame Janet Primary Academy

“After some thought and consideration, I chose Valerie’s beautiful drawing of three robins. I was also greatly impressed by Abigayle and Malgorzata’s Christmas trees, Iris’ penguins, Ruby’s reindeers and Sonny’s snowman so I have chosen these as my runners-up.

Ruby Godden from Newington Community Primary School

“Very well done to Valerie, Abigayle, Iris, Sonny, Malgorzata and Ruby and my sincere thanks and best wishes for Christmas to all who took part.”

Sonny Haywood from St Joseph’s RC Primary School

All 2018 entrants can be viewed on Craig’s website.