The former Hotel Cecil in Cliftonville is open to the public this weekend (September 8-9).
Margate Civic Society has agreed to steward the event at 12 Arthur Road as part of Heritage Open Days.
People can take a look inside the 1890s property between 2pm and 4pm this weekend and next September 15-16).
The 19th century home was brought back to its former splendour following an 18-month restoration project.
A team of 13 from DG Joinery and architect Sam Causer worked on the intricate restoration and refurbishment of 12 Arthur Road, which was completed last September.
The now stunning building was in a poor state of repair with parts of the property literally falling down.
Its transformation included the restoration of original features, such as mouldings, cornices, bannisters, flooring, Victorian tiles and fireplaces and spectacular stained glassed windows.
The property, bought by brothers Christopher and Mark Walker in 2013, had been owned by the Gregory family for more than 70 years, who had retained many of the original features that make the house so special.
The house was built in the 1890s and, along with number 28, is distinct from other properties because it is double-fronted, stands three-storeys high and, unique in the road, has a stainglassed orangey – added after the original build – above the ornately columned porchway.
The property first appears on the 1901 census under the title ‘Kennington Lodge. The householder was Emmanuel Levy, who lived with his two daughters and three servants.
In 1940 the house was sold to the Frederick Hotels chain and just after World War Two it was bought by the Gregory family.
Originally the family ran a guesthouse but in the 60s they converted the business to holiday flatlets with up to 50 guests at any one time. That business ended in the 1980s and the property was used as a family home.
The most recent conversion has seen the 10 bedrooms reduced to five- all with beautiful en-suites containing roll-top baths, the walls stripped back to the lime plaster, period furniture put in place – including cast iron radiators – with doors, windows, floors and tiling restored.
Visitors can see the restored original Victorian tiles on the front path, the recreated grand front door, terrazzo flooring, the stunning dining and sitting rooms, stained glass windows at the front and painstakingly recreated sash windows at the rear and a remodelled kitchen area with an amazing concrete island.
The property won a Margate Town Pride Blue Plaque this year. Money from the Heritage Lottery Fund, as part of TDC’s Dalby Square Townscape Heritage Initiative, was awarded to help with the renovation.
Not suitable for wheelchairs. No toilets available and parking in street may be difficult.
Read here: The 23 Thanet venues to explore during Heritage Open Days 2018
Only open two hours lol. We went down there this morning expecting to see inside but it was closed. Hadn’t realised it’s only open between 2.00 and 4.00 pm. You can’t call that Open Days!